Pieces of Flare

Don't Leaf Me

Don't Leaf Me (Print available for purchase at RedBubble.)

Lately, I’ve been into playing with light hitting my camera lens in angles that create flare. I’d never done this intentionally before and never really thought of purposefully adding lens flare as an artistic touch until recently. One day when I was out shooting I noticed a nice looking beam of light coming across my frame and decided to see if I could capture it with my camera. I knew that this wasn’t actually a beam of light but an effect created by light hitting my lens. I thought it my first attempt looked pretty good so I continued to experiment and came up with this photo above.

Ever Orange

Ever Orange (Print available for purchase at RedBubble.)

This next photo (above) wasn’t a complete accidental discovery like my first photo in this post. In this photo, I had come to this location to purposefully shoot with lens flare from the morning sun but had no idea what I wanted to shoot. If anything, I had planned on shooting the path again but then came across this orange “evergreen”.

Anyways, all this goes to show that playing with your camera and experimenting may create some awesome results. Don’t be afraid of accidents or messing up because getting out of your comfort zone with your photography is a great way to learn new techniques.

Leave a Reply

